A model to the rest of the nation and the world

Is he just being a contrarian or is there something to what he’s saying?

Gary Oldman was recently interviewed by Playboy and had some responses that will catch the ear of a few people.  Since its Playboy, I won’t be linking to their site but I am looking for an alternative link.  However, Independent Journal Review has sections of the interview available for reading without scantily clad women leering in the background.  Needless to say, some of his responses somewhat NSFW, or at least read at home away from kids.

Looks like he and I share similar feelings about “Political Correctness”:

“I just think political correctness is crap. That’s what I think about it. I think it’s like, take a f***ing joke. Get over it. … I don’t know about Mel. He got drunk and said a few things, but we’ve all said those things. We’re all f***ing hypocrites. That’s what I think about it.”

And the intellectual dishonesty when it comes to calling out racism:

“It’s our culture now, absolutely. At the Oscars, if you didn’t vote for 12 Years a Slave, you were a racist. You have to be very careful about what you say. I do have particular views and opinions that most of this town doesn’t share, but it’s not like I’m a fascist or a racist. There’s nothing like that in my history.”

Lot’s of people fee the same way as Gary when it comes the the hypocrisy of Liberal Media:

“Well, if I called Nancy Pelosi a c**t—and I’ll go one better, a f***ing useless c**t—I can’t really say that. But Bill Maher and Jon Stewart can, and nobody’s going to stop them from working because of it.”

One thing that is pointed out that has people hemming and hawing is the fact that despite his amazing body of work, he has only a single Academy Awards nomination.  Obviously with some of the things he’s said there will be a few roles he’ll not be invited to read for.  However, that doesn’t mean that we can’t support people like him.

And if you really need an answer the title of this post poses, yes, there is something to what he is saying.

Leave a Reply

